IBWAA Names Arrieta, Keuchel Cy Young Winners

No real surprises here, so I’m going to present the IWBAA email in much the manner I received it:

Keuchel received 92 first-place votes (51.40%) and 956 points while being named on 175 of 179 ballots (97.22%). Others receiving first-place votes include David Price (80), Chris Sale (5) and Sonny Gray (2).


AL Cy Young:

1st Place: Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros – 956 points
2nd Place: David Price, Toronto Blue Jays – 904
3rd Place: Sonny Gray, Oakland A’s – 351

4th Place: Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox – 282

5th Place: Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays – 227


NL Cy Young:

1st Place: Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs – 930 points
2nd Place: Zack Greinke, Los Angeles Dodgers – 851
3rd Place: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers – 655

4th Place: Gerrit Cole, Pittsburgh Pirates – 184

5th Place: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals – 169

Arrieta received 79 first-place votes (43.89%) and 930 points while being named on 178 of 180 ballots (98.89%). Others receiving first-place votes include Zack Greinke (68), Clayton Kershaw (31) and Max Scherzer (2).

I’m working on some more in-depth stuff for later, but I do need to once again point out that TWO PEOPLE LEFT ARRIETA OFF THE BALLOT ENTIRELY (maybe they’re the same two who failed to name Kris Bryant among their top three for ROY). There were 5 spots. I understand the whole “vote how you want” thing, but this exhibits a lack of propriety that has me way more upset than I should be over a fake vote. On the bright side, the IBWAA results have thus far predicted the official awards, so let’s hope that holds.

Back to top button